More on the 2014 Silver Buffalo recipients’ service to youth

silver-buffalo-2In February I posted a list of the 2014 recipients of the Silver Buffalo Award, and today I’d like to share what those individuals did to earn Scouting’s highest honor for adults.

Why today? Because tonight the noteworthy nine will get their medals in a special recognition ceremony at the BSA’s National Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tenn.

The Silver Buffalo, for those who aren’t aware, is given by the National Court of Honor to individuals who have given “noteworthy and extraordinary service to youth.” Just 741 men and women have earned the award in its 88-year history.

Follow the jump for the official citations included in tonight’s program honoring the Silver Buffalo Award recipients. They were written by Scouting magazine contributor and Eagle Scout Mark Ray. Join me in congratulating these awe-inspiring awardees.

Silver Buffalo Award, Class of 2014

(Click each image to enlarge)
Silver Buffalo 2014 - Beck
Silver Buffalo 2014 - Capps Silver Buffalo 2014 - Hoffman Silver Buffalo 2014 - Manchin Silver Buffalo 2014 - Smith Silver Buffalo 2014 - Stark Silver Buffalo 2014 - Stolowitz Silver Buffalo 2014 - Turner Silver Buffalo 2014 - Wixom

Silver Buffalo Class of 2014 photo by Roger Morgan/BSA. Not pictured: Sen. Joe Manchin.

Avatar photo

Bryan on Scouting

Bryan Wendell, an Eagle Scout, is the senior editor of Scouting and Eagles' Call magazines. You can read more of his posts at