The Boy Scouts of America Announces 2014 Silver Buffalo Recipients

Civic-Minded Leaders Receive Organization’s Highest Honor for Service to Youth


silver-buffalo-2Nashville, Tenn. (May 23, 2014)—The Boy Scouts of America today recognized nine top volunteers with the organization’s highest commendation, the Silver Buffalo Award, during the BSA’s National Annual Meeting.

The award has been given annually since 1926 to civic-minded men and women for their invaluable contributions and service to youth. The Silver Buffalo is awarded to individuals who give noteworthy and extraordinary service to youth; the service must be national in scope and can be independent of, or directly through, the Boy Scouts of America. Candidates for this award must be nominated based on a significant period of national service to a youth agency or in actions affecting youth. Candidates are not required to be registered members of the BSA to receive the award.

Lord Baden-Powell, the founder of the worldwide Scouting movement, received the first Silver Buffalo Award. Other notable recipients include 14 U.S. presidents, Microsoft co-founder Bill Gates, ExxonMobil Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Rex W. Tillerson, race car driver Jeff Gordon, and former Secretary of State Colin Powell. In its 88-year history, only 741 awards have been awarded.

“We are grateful to the men and women receiving this award for their tireless commitment to youth, and we recognize that they represent an extensive network of volunteers who serve in their communities,” said Wayne Brock, Chief Scout Executive. “The Silver Buffalo Award honors these leaders for their dedicated service and contributions to young people.”

The 2014 Silver Buffalo Award recipients are: David L. Beck, Utah; Toby Capps, Washington; Michael G. Hoffman, Arizona; Senator Joe Manchin, West Virginia; Robert J. Smith, New Jersey; William W. Stark Jr., California; Mark Lewis Stolowitz, California; Ralph Wilson “Chip” Turner, Texas; and Rosemary M. Wixom, Utah.